Talk

Advanced search

What's your favourite vegan cake recipe?

(17 Posts)
ChainingDaisy Tue 27-Jun-17 06:31:07

As in the title really. I'm a competent baker, but I've never done a vegan cake. Egg free or dairy free due to allergies, but never vegan. It's my grandma's birthday soon, she wants a big family party and I thought it would be nice if everyone could have the same cake.

OP’s posts: |
ChainingDaisy Tue 27-Jun-17 20:46:41

Anyone?

canihaveacoffeeplease Tue 27-Jun-17 21:45:55

Jamie Oliver toffee apple vegan cake is fantastic!

canihaveacoffeeplease Tue 27-Jun-17 21:46:36

http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/fruit-recipes/vegan-toffee-apple-upside-down-cake/

ChainingDaisy Wed 28-Jun-17 23:56:59

Thank you! Can I ask, what vinegar did you use in it? It does look lovely.

wonderwoo Thu 29-Jun-17 00:21:33

I've got a lovely chocolate cake recipe. Really tasty and very easy. Will post it tomorrow if you are interested.

wonderwoo Thu 29-Jun-17 00:23:42

I've just found it online. This is it:
www.veganvillage.co.uk/recipes/chocfudge.htm

wonderwoo Thu 29-Jun-17 00:25:07

And I ice it with dairy free chocolate butter icing.

Joffmognum Thu 29-Jun-17 12:45:00

I recommend doing a cake with interesting flavourings, such as that JO one, because if you do a simple sponge people are going to be comparing it to a regular sponge in their heads.

CMOTDibbler Thu 29-Jun-17 12:49:25

I love the Ms Cupcake cherry bakewell cupcakes, but the Nigella vegan chocolate cake is amazing

ChainingDaisy Thu 29-Jun-17 14:14:19

That's a very good point joffmognum , but the chocolate one might look more celebratory? I might do a couple of trials, I'm sure thefamily can put up with the hardship of eating them for me...

wonderwoo Thu 29-Jun-17 16:27:12

That chocolate cake really does not taste vegan in my opinion. I generally choose to make it instead of other non vegan recipes as it's so nice. Good idea to try some out and see what you like. A good excuse to eat cake!