Talk

Advanced search

Food you can cook better than a restaurant

(76 Posts)
Saracarbonera Sun 28-Aug-16 20:23:21

I love eating out but there are a few dishes that I have stopped ordering when out because I think I do them better myself at home. These dishes are fajitas, spicy prawns, roast potatoes. On the other hand I love arrabiata and have yet to get to grips with this dish, it is always better in restaurants, I can't get the hang of it.
Have you any dishes that you are always disappointed with in restaurants because your homemade version is better?

MajesticSeaFlapFlap Sun 28-Aug-16 20:25:20

potato dauphinoise

I'm actually a rather poor cook overall but my potato dauphinoise tastes excellent

Amalfimamma Sun 28-Aug-16 20:28:11

Arrabbiata, amatriciana, sunday ragu, pizza, lasagne

Saracarbonera Sun 28-Aug-16 20:32:24

Amalfimamma how do you make your arrabiata? I just can't get the taste right. It always tastes too much like tinned tomatoes no matter what brand I use and if I use fresh tomatoes it tastes too bland.

Backingvocals Sun 28-Aug-16 20:33:22

Crumble is always rubbish in a restaurant. Just poshed up for no reason. Bit of fruit with dry crumble on top in a fancy glass
bowl.

What you want is a big school dinners style metal tray of fruit (pref rhubarb imho) smothered in crumble with some crunchy bits, some sticky bits where the juice has come up, some caramelised bits...plus a vat of custard. Restaurants do not understand this.

Lilaclily Sun 28-Aug-16 20:34:34

Roast potatoes never taste as good as at home unless it's a very good pub

NoCapes Sun 28-Aug-16 20:36:28

DP makes the best hunters chicken I've ever tasted
Pub & restaraunt ones are always soooo dry
His is juicy and tasty and cheesy and just delicious

Pestilence13610 Sun 28-Aug-16 20:38:38