Talk

Advanced search

Christmas veggie main

(3 Posts)
skillsandtea Mon 08-Dec-14 17:33:04

I'm making the main for the vegetarians on Christmas Day and have found a lovely recipe but it requires pecorino cheese which has rennet in it. Is rennet vegetarian? I've looked at other similar cheeses and some say it contains rennet but then some say 'animal rennet.' Are these two different things? Please help as I know they will love this dish.

agoodbook Mon 08-Dec-14 19:21:13

It traditionally comes from cows stomachs- so not vegetarian. I think you can get cheese made with a vegetarian alternative , but you would need to check

skillsandtea Tue 09-Dec-14 16:28:15

Thank you

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now