Talk

Advanced search

Xmas pudding help

(9 Posts)
bonkersLFDT20 Wed 03-Dec-14 22:53:01

I have three 2 pint Xmas puds to cook. They've been sitting in the fridge in lidded plastic basins since Sunday. I hope they're OK.

Tomorrow is the day I am around long enough to babysit them, but I've never done it before and need some help.

I have 3 large lidded pans.
Q. I've done nothing with greaseproof paper yet. What do I need to do?
Q. Do I cook them with the lids on?
Q. Do I need to rest them on something (saucer?) in the pan or will they be OK since they are plastic?
Q. How full do the pans need to be?
Q. Do I actually boil the water, or simmer it?
Q. How long will they take and how will I know they're done?
Q. Obviously I know it depends on the size of the pan and the amount of water, but roughly how long do I get between top ups? I will be working in the garden office so not actually in the house/kitchen.
Q. I presume I can't take them off the heat at all, can I? My window to cook is from 8.45am to 2.55pm (school day)

nb. I do not have muslin/pudding cloth. I really have to do them tomorrow as I don't know when I'll have another window long enough.

Q. Whose daft idea was this in the first place?

Thank you to anyone who can help me.

bigbirdSept Wed 03-Dec-14 23:22:05

Hi. First post!

You need to steam for 6 hours. Pop puddings in pots, pour boiling water in a few inches deep and simmer with lid tightly on. Top up approx every 2 hours but check every hour if u can. The heat under the pot should never be really hot so plastic bowls don't melt, just foot heat the water on high, pour it in already boiled. If u r worried put a saucer upside down under the bowl.

For covering I always cut a circle of greaseproof bigger than the pudding, then do a fold/pleat down the middle to allow it expand. Then cover bowl and tie down with string under the rim. Repeat with a circle of tin foil with pleat in and tie it down too.