Talk

Advanced search

Cakes... Why can't I get the buggering buggers right?

(22 Posts)
Graterater Sun 16-Nov-14 05:02:10

I'm a really good cook. Honestly I promise., I can make pies, bread, biscuits, pastry etc but cakes manI'm horrible at them. My baking powder is fresh, have tried plain or self raising, I cream the butter and sugar really well, don't over mix once flour is added etc. where am I going wrong?? The only thing I can think of is that I don't have a sieve and I use value flour. But surely that can't be it can it?

rootypig Sun 16-Nov-14 05:06:18

What goes wrong with them? we must have the symptoms for a proper diagnosis grin

Graterater Sun 16-Nov-14 05:28:00

Sorry yes. The main issue is that they never rise. But today I made one that was just atrocious, it was more like a pancake. Seriously.

Largely I think my problem is that I am not a recipe follower and I know baking is a science and I really ought to. But the pancake cake I thought I had followed the recipe (smitten kitchen yellow cake) really closely. With that one though my scales had run out of battery so I was doing it the American way measuring in cups (i do have proper measuring cups) so perhaps that had something to do with it. What should raw cake mix look like consistency wise?

Interestingly though last year a friend who is a great baker made a cake at my house (using my ingredients and equipment) and it was pretty shit and didn't rise either..

rootypig Sun 16-Nov-14 05:51:40

Oh my lord there's so much wrong I don't know where to start grin

Cakes are chemistry, so you must always measure.
Did you do the conversion to cups yourself? Cups are a measure of volume, and weight is a measure of, well, weight. So the conversion is different for every different ingredient. Also beware: English and American cups vary slightly. This will matter in a recipe that calls for a certain number of eggs, as the eggs must be in the correct ratio to other ingredients.