Talk

Advanced search

home made pizza novice - help please!

(4 Posts)
BobPatSamandIgglePiggle Sat 15-Mar-14 09:41:01

Hello...

I'd like to make pizza bases but I'm a poor cook!

I have a food processor with a dough hook so will be using that too lazy to knead

Anyone got a foolproof recipe? I've read various recipes but some say let it prove, others say top and bake straight away? ?

TheSkiingGardener Sat 15-Mar-14 09:58:59

- 300g strong white flour
- 3g easy-blend yeast
- 1/2 tsp salt
- 15ml olive oil
- 175 ml water

If you have semolina, then replace 50g if the flour with semolina. Put it all in your processor and let that knead it. When it's a smooth dough you can either use it straight away or let it rest, then knock it back and use it. Do you let it rest you get a chewier crust so it's whatever you prefer. I tend not to. Roll it out thinner than you think you want, top and put in a preheated, very hot, oven. If you have a pizza stone preheat that too.

By the way, getting a topped, floppy pizza into the oven can be tricky, especially if you want it directly on a stone so put the I topped dough on a piece of foil or non stick may before sliding that into the oven

MrsCosmopilite Sat 15-Mar-14 10:04:25

I do all my pizza base making by hand.

The nicest recipe for pizza bases I've found is the Jamie Oliver one. The most foolproof one is the Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall one.

Both use yeast and will need time to 'prove' - that is, for the yeast to do it's work and make the dough the right consistency.

I quite often use a quick and easy scone-based pizza base, from a kids vegetarian cookery book:

250 g self-raising flour
50 g unsalted butter, cubed (or good quality butter alternative spread)
a little water
extra flour for kneading and rolling

1. Preheat the oven to 200C/Gas Mark 7.
2. Lightly grease two baking trays
3. Sift the flour into a bowl, add the cubed butter and crumble together with your fingertips until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.