Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Good cake tins

(8 Posts)
storminabuttercup Thu 20-Sep-12 13:12:26

My mum has asked me to think of something I really want for Christmas, i love baking but my tins are rubbish, so said id love some new ones. My loaf ones are fine, they are over 60 years old so proper quality, but I have no idea what constitutes a good tin, any experts who can advise please?

HazeltheMcWitch Thu 20-Sep-12 13:57:55

I'm by no means an expert, but I am very enthusiastic, will that do?!

Lakeland I love, and they have a great range. My 'standard-shaped' ones I've used loads, and they wash and wear well. And they're Buy 1, Get 2nd half price. I also like Mermaid, and Silverwood.

amyboo Thu 20-Sep-12 14:02:03

I second lakeland - they're nice sturdy tins that don't flex with baking. All non-stick and I've found the coating to last really well. They have a fab selection of sizes, loose bottom tins, etc etc.

storminabuttercup Thu 20-Sep-12 16:01:34

Brilliant we've got a Lakeland near here too!! (just opened I've resisted so far) thanks!

HazeltheMcWitch Thu 20-Sep-12 18:46:11

Word of caution though - they're addictive. You will henceforth find that you NEED more: new sizes or shapes of cake / pie / tart tin. Then you'll need storage for tins.

You have been warned.

midori1999 Thu 20-Sep-12 18:59:21

It depends what sort of thing you want to bake!

Invicta are professional quality and very good. Or Silverwood do a 12" square multi tin which means you can bake a square sponge any size (square or rectangle) up to 12" or bake 4 6" cakes at once. Or you can buy extra dividers and bake mini cakes in it.

sparkle12mar08 Fri 21-Sep-12 20:09:14

Silverwood every time - beautifully made and British too. Wouldn't bother with Lakeland personally, not sturdy enough in their MyKitchen range and over priced too.

LizzieMint73 Tue 25-Sep-12 09:17:57