Talk

Advanced search

Bad cook needs HELP with real food for toddler

(21 Posts)
MichaelaS Fri 03-Jun-11 00:21:54

Right, time to do something about my guilt trip and ask for your help.

I am a kitchen novice and a vegetarian. I eat mostly pasta, pizza, bread products (tea tonight was crumpets after some tapas in a cafe earlier on). I dp cook sometimes - things like yorkshire puddings and I have a few things I dabble with - such as soup and even bread. I can follow a recipe and get an OK result, but with a busy toddler and a demanding part time job I struggle to motivate myself in the kitchen for everyday food week in, week out rather than one off herculean efforts for a dinner party or special occasion.

My DS has been eating mostly jar food since being weaned, he had some issues eating lumps and needed high calorie food for medical reasons and I seem to have got into a habit now. We don't tend to have a lot of baby-led-weaning type of veg in and when I have tried buying things a lot ends up in the bin. I'm just struggling to translate my desire to do more with my crapness to actually do it!

I'd love to start making some family dishes we can all eat, or even just doing more home cooked things, but i'm a bit scared of the amount of effort it will take and whether i'll be any good at it. My DH is a big meat eater but quite critical about how others cook food, and I don't want to spend hours chopping veg if I can help it.

So please can you help me out with simple suggestions for what I can try that will be relatively easy to prepare for a kitchen novice? It'd be good if I could cook say 3 meals from scratch a week, my DH can do a similar amount, and between us and DS's nursery he'd be getting the majority of his food home cooked rather than processed. I just don't want to teach him bad food habits because I have them, I want him to have a better attitude to fruit and veg than I do. Help!

coansha Fri 03-Jun-11 00:56:23