Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Now I remember why I never bake cakes...........

(44 Posts)
QueenOfQuotes Fri 19-Aug-05 22:34:14

After some very kind MN'ers found me a scrummy sounding recipe for Chocolate Cake with no eggs, butter or milk in it I duly got it in the oven.

First of all the top of it got burnt (yes the oven was at the right temp) so I had to cut the top off. I made up some icing on iced it and it looked really scrummy.

Just gone to eat some and it's rock hard - and completely inedible to us two (although the boys will probably eat it tomorrow). The annoying thing is that the top of the cake which I cut off is still lovely and soft and edible - even though it's been out in the open since 7pm (I'm not very good at cutting things so cut a larger than nessecary bit off the top ).

DH was really looking forward to some cake (as was I) and it's a complete disastor - and what a complete waste of 'resources' - the cupboards are bare (well apart from a few odds and ends) and I can't even manage to bake a sodding cake.

spacecadet Fri 19-Aug-05 22:35:37

remind me never to come round yours for tea then!

TwinSetAndPearls Fri 19-Aug-05 22:36:57

I tried to make some fairy cakes this evening, fell asleep and dp nearly came home to a burnt down house.

So you have my sympathies!

NannyL Fri 19-Aug-05 22:37:08

ok....

go to tesco...

get 100g if flour butter and caster sugar, and 2 eggs and beat it all together in a bowl (+ tsp of naking powder)....

by some cake cases... put them on a baking tray and put a desert spoon of mix in each one.... should make about 20... and cook in preheated oven at 180 / GM 4 for 15 mins!

you cant go wrong with that!

QueenOfQuotes Fri 19-Aug-05 22:38:26

Nanny - you going to give me the money to buy the flour. eggs and cake cases??

And actually I probably would go wrong with that.

TwinSetAndPearls Fri 19-Aug-05 22:39:47

Unless you fall asleep NannyL

GeorginaA Fri 19-Aug-05 22:39:48