Talk

Advanced search

A baby catfish has appeared in my tank

(10 Posts)
DownRightAmazing Thu 18-Jul-19 13:50:10

I'm a novice fish owner, I have a 60l tank which has been going since January with some guppies, a few tetra, some shrimp and two catfish. The tank is stable and everyone is happy.

Today as I was passing by I spotted a baby catfish! I had no idea one of my adults was pregnant, they haven't changed size noticeably and I haven't done anything different.

What do I need to do for the baby? I don't have a spare tank to put him in, he is about 2cm long so hopefully too big to be eaten by any of the others. Will he eat the sinking nuggets like his parents? They are the smallest ones I think. Does he need different food?

We have plenty of hiding spaces and objects - is he likely to be the only one or are there more in there???

percheron67 Thu 18-Jul-19 13:58:37

I wish I could give advice other than to say contact your local aquatic shop and ask them. Hope the little one survives.

stillawakeat4amagain Thu 18-Jul-19 14:29:34

What type of catfish is it?
Most are egg layers so the mother would have laid the eggs and the father would have fertilised them after they were laid. They usually lay more than 50 eggs.
With what you have in the tank its should be safe enough for him. For food I would use granuals or flake food, jmc catfish pellets or some bloodworm, (if its a bristle nose catfish then a slice of cucumber or a bit of lettuce, but remove any uneaten after 2 days)

stillawakeat4amagain Thu 18-Jul-19 14:34:14

Could you get a pic of the baby please, it maybe the guppy as their fry go down to hide in the gravel.

DownRightAmazing Thu 18-Jul-19 14:35:27

@stillawakeat4amagain thanks! I will attach pictures of the adult catfish - I'm not sure what type they are?