Talk

Advanced search

Feminism in nurseries

(10 Posts)
AndMiffyWentToSleep Tue 04-Mar-14 08:01:32

It was a fancy dress day at nursery today. All the boys were cowboys, knights or darth vader except DS, who was one of the younger ones and wasn't given a choice. The girls were ALL princesses.
All of them.
It is so depressing.
I feel I want to try and do something but I'm not sure what.

JokersGiggle Sun 06-Apr-14 03:24:25

on a dress up day at school my niece was a suffragette! Her choice, and all her friends were princesses or the Duchess of Cambridge.
Was so proud to over hear her telling everyone who she was and why.

dubaipieeye Sun 06-Apr-14 03:47:51

I'm a nursery teacher and have a real issue with this...I have banned the girls in my class from princess dresses at dress up time! It's great to see them as a vet or a monster or a rabbit or something. Sadly they all seem to have several million princess dresses at home...

JokersGiggle Sun 06-Apr-14 11:36:20

I have noticed that the moment little girls put on princess dresses they all turn into a diva......anyone else noticed that?

EdithWeston Sun 06-Apr-14 11:50:32

It does seem a narrow choice (for both sexes) but the nursery is just the place where the early stereoptyping is showing up (rather starkly in this case).

I don't think enough people query why their daughter "loves" (always the hyperbole) punk, or princesses,or glitter. It is narrowing horizons far too early.

For the nursery-specific issue, if you can make suggestions how about asking for future dress-ups to be animal themed?

EdithWeston Sun 06-Apr-14 11:51:45

'punk' drat! I meant pink

bamboobutton Sun 06-Apr-14 12:01:07

i worry a little bit about the princessification at nursery too.

when 3yo dd started nursery she wasn't a "girly" girl at all. after a few months she was wanting ribbons and bows and dresses and pink everything.