Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

PND?

(9 Posts)
cheekymonk Sat 13-Aug-05 21:18:04

Hi There,
This is my first time using this website and I would be grateful for advice. I am mum to a 6 and a half month old little boy. I love him dearly but I just find parenting so difficult and feel like I must be so selfish as I resent having to constantly put him first.
I had a difficult birth, it was emergency c section and I breast fed for 2 months despite constant criticism about how he was going hungry. I have been getting really ill on/off since I had him and have now found out that it is gallstones but I am too fat to be operated on at the moment.
I am happily married but my husband is in the navy and away intermittently. My family live 3 hours away and I only have 1 real friend who cares but is domineering and makes me feel inadequate. She insists on spending 2 full days a week with us and will not let me push the pram during these days. One time I changed my son and she whipped him out of my arms and I just wanted to cry. When I got home that day I did cry bucket loads as I felt so worn down.
I feel like my son is sapping all the life out of me and nothing I do is good enough. When ever I leave the room he wails and I find this clinginess so draining. I will do anything for him, I make all his food from scratch and spend many nights reading baby books and try hard to get it right. I just think I am so tense and stressed and I don't know if I am making him like it and so a vicious circle starts!
Sometimes I shout and tell him to f off and feel like the most wicked wretched mum ever.There are times when he just won't stop crying and it gets me so mad so quick! HELP!!

colditz Sat 13-Aug-05 21:46:47

he will be picking up on your stresses, which will make him stressed.