Talk

Advanced search

Being a good enough mother

(5 Posts)
Goodmum1234 Tue 25-Aug-20 20:07:49

A long story short. Have had mental
Health issues for years but have never taken medication but have had suicidal thoughts in the past but never acted. I keep things to myself and to the outside world my life looks great. No one knows my stress, anxiety, and why I am very overweight, why I smoke when things get too much. I sometimes cry myself to sleep wishing not to wake up. It’s dreadful
I have two beautiful children. I try to be a good mother. I’m kind, feed them well, provide Toys, games and books, support with clubs and homework. I was a teacher years ago. BUT I am guilty of not doing much else. I never really take them out, I dont really play with them, I’ve never been on a bike ride with them (too embarrassed), I hardly ever bake, we never go to the pub or our fir meals, we have t been on holiday for two years but they have been away with my parents as we were working.
I feel guilty. I know I shouldnt but all I see on Facebook are happy super families enjoying life everyday. ‘Living their best life’. I struggle to get out of bed sone days but always have for my children. I feel
So bad that my children were born into this miserable life but is that my mind playing tricks on me. My husband has mobility issues so walks are off the cards too. Any one else like this? Is it good enough that the children have lots of time at home but in a nice environment or should I be doing more? Mental health issues are a bastard :-(

OP’s posts: |
Goodmum1234 Wed 26-Aug-20 16:46:24

Anyone?

Vallmo47 Wed 26-Aug-20 16:54:54

I’m very sorry you’re feeling like this. In my experience, those people who worry about not being a good enough parent, are. Because we care, whether we are having a good time or bad, we try our best because we care.