Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

venlaflaxine/effexor-anyone tried it?

(17 Posts)
divastrop Sun 05-Aug-07 12:56:17

i have been on fluoxetine since 12 weeks pregnant with dd3 who is almost 5 months old.it worked ok during pregnacy but stopped working after the birth.when dd3 was about 6 weeks i tried changing to seroxat,but i couldnt cope with the extreme sleepiness,so the gp put me back on fluoxetine but at a higher dose(40mg).

after almost 3 months on the 40mg,i havent really felt any better,so the doctor has given me venlaflaxine to try instead.i ahve to have 4 days with nothing and am due to start it on wednesday.

i have never tried that type of ad before,does anybody have any experience as i dont know what to expect,wrt side effects etc.does it make you drowsy?put weight on?

any info would be most helpful,thanks.

Dior Sun 05-Aug-07 13:41:17

Message withdrawn

divastrop Sun 05-Aug-07 16:54:32

thanks dior.the main concern for me is whether i'll be able to tolerate it long enough to give it a chance to work atm.

its hard to know when somthing is working or not in those situations.

lulumama Sun 05-Aug-07 17:18:15

it was the AD that helped pull me out of massive PN depression

started at 175 mg, for 2 weeks, then 150 for a while, then 75, after having 20 mg of citalopram, seroxat, lustral etc...highest dose of any of those i was on was 60 mg...didn;t touch the sides

venlaflaxine was prescribed by consultant pysch. and really helped, kicked in within days rather than weeks

hope it helps you too x

zippit Sun 05-Aug-07 17:21:46

I had it eventually..I think it made me feel a bit sex mad..but that was ok,i don't know if that is a common effect

divastrop Sun 05-Aug-07 20:30:02

thanks lulu

zippit-loli dont mind that effect,its better than having no sex drive like with some ad's.