Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Teenager on Fluoxetine

(6 Posts)
jeanette1971 Tue 06-Feb-18 10:49:07

Hi guys
I am totally new to this so please bear with me, I am looking for others who have had similar experiences as I am at my wits end !!
I have a 16 year old boy who last year started with severe depression and anxiety. This was so unexpected as he appeared to be a happy, outgoing, sociable funny teenage. No one believes me when I tell them how depressed and anxious he is. He was fast tracked through CAMHS as he had suicidal thoughts. He started CAMHS CBT in September last year and has just finished his 12 sessions.

He started Fluoxetine 10mg at the end of October and it was increased to 20mg at the end of November. He had terrible side effects feeling worse than ever, to date, it does not appear that Fluoxetine has made a huge difference and last week which was week 15, he was worse than ever with his anxiety although the depression is better.

Can anyone out there who has been through similar advise if this is normal after 15 weeks to not be any better and in fact be worse. The anxiety is at an all time high and the tiredness and fatigue is just as bad, if he is not anxious, he is exhausted all day. He is trying his best with diet, exercise, calming techniques but not getting anywhere.

Is the Fluoxetine not working at all ?? I really would appreciate any comments from a very worried mum.
Thanks in advance
Jeanette

Coconutty89 Tue 06-Feb-18 10:52:09

Ive been on numerous antidepressants and anxeity meds and fluoxitine was awful for me. They don't work for everyone I'd suggest taking him back to docs for a review and maybe a change.
Citalopram and escitalopram were great for Me, now I'm on vexir (I think that's how you spell it!) And they've really helped x hope he feels better soon!