Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Anyone struggle with conversation and especially banter?

(14 Posts)
Orionion Fri 24-Nov-17 22:17:48

I’ve taken ages to articulate what I want to say (in line with my title!) and I probably haven’t been very successful but here goes.

I have confidence and assertiveness issues due to certain life events I won’t go into, which I’m working on through various forms of therapy and counselling. I suppose this is unearthing a lot of stuff for me and raising lots of questions, so this is where this is coming from.

Deep down - which I’ve never admitted to anyone - I think my lack of confidence comes from having a huge chip on my shoulder about my own intelligence, or lack of it.

On paper it looks good. I have a degree, a post grad degree, I’ve had OK jobs, but nothing amazing and my lack of confidence probably stopped me from going higher than I did. Anyway I really struggle with conversations, from polite chit chat at the school gates, to spending an evening with closer friends, and if I find myself in a group situation where there is lots of (amusing and witty) banter, I I find myself out of my depth and can’t really join in apart from laughing. With planned meet ups, I stress about what I’m going to talk about, if I’ll be able to keep up, if I’ll be able to think of the right questions to ask. I often have brain freezes and sometimes come out with a total non-point that leaves me and the listener swiftly having to move on because what I said made no sense at all. And I kick myself for it inside.