Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Has anyone been on Citalopram for depression?

(18 Posts)
deuxmoulins Sun 21-May-17 21:42:20

I would really appreciate hearing anyone's experience of being on citalopram for depression.

I've tried Fluoxetine and Sertraline to varying degrees of success over the past few years. I've had a very difficult year, and, although my mood is better, it's never been stable. I find it very easy to slip back into my former depressive patterns after even a minor setback. There is a load of other shit to come (DPs are in the process of divorcing, I'm a student so still live at home with younger siblings) so I want to feel stable in myself, and, crucially, able to cope.

The nurse at uni suggested thinking about citalopram. My only worry is that I have uni exams in a month which I really need to pass, and I don't want to be really ill with side effects. I also have trouble sleeping which is obviously important around exams. I would love to hear people's experiences with it so I can talk to my GP about it (appt on Tuesday). Thanks in advance.

bakingcupcakes Sun 21-May-17 21:54:50

I found citalopram side affects awful. I didn't take it for long. I was ok with fluoxetine - mentally it worked well for me but I didn't like the weight gain.

I don't think you can really know without trying as they affect everyone differently but I can see why you wouldn't want to be switching at exam time.

Cluesue Sun 21-May-17 21:57:56

I gained a lot of weight and had sweats awful but stabled me mentally.

han01uk Sun 21-May-17 21:59:49

Been on it for a while,varying between 10-50mg and aside from jaw clenching on the high dose (which I think has a link) I haven't really noticed any side effects at all!!

TheGrumpySquirrel Sun 21-May-17 21:59:54