Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Overwhelmed and stressed

(5 Posts)
user1488276155 Tue 28-Feb-17 10:26:38

Hi everyone,

This is the first time i've posted in mumsnet...I'm feeling extremely desperste for some real support and also a bit of a rant. I've suffered on and off my whole life with depression, the last bad attack being over 12 months ago. Recently I think I've been slipping back into it but have been in denial for a couple of months.

I started university last September and it was a shock to the system, I was very isolated and struggled to fit in, though this has become much easier and I thoroughly enjoy the learning process, but I have started to lack motivation, despite just receiving a first class mark for semester one.

I do feel quite resentful of the fact that all of the responsibility for my son falls onto me aswell. Of course I love him to peices, he's 3 and has had a lot of issues throughout his short life as he was premature. He gets ill very often and it constantly falls on me to have time off to care for him, it just makes me feel as if what I'm doing is less important. Though I appreciate his step dad has a very important job but his actual father is useless. I don't get any financial support from him and he constantly messes me around with his contact hours. I feel like i don't have the strength to deal with it. He left me in thousands of pounds worth of debt yet I'm still so tolerant of him. It's always my job to go to hospital appointments, dentists, doctors etc etc which I don't mind but maybe I'm feeling overwhelmed at the moment.