Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Counselling - how do you know if it's helping?

(17 Posts)
Misty9 Sun 12-Feb-17 23:40:06

Just that really. I'm currently having person centred counselling and it's very different to what I'm used to (I'm a therapist) and I'm finding it hard to know if it's helping.

How do you know when counselling is helpful to you?

Missbohan Sun 12-Feb-17 23:42:54

You're a therapist and you're having counselling? I've always wondered this - if therapists have their own therapists.

Misty9 Sun 12-Feb-17 23:48:15

Yep. It's a requirement for most therapeutic approaches to have therapy whilst training. Not for mine but it should be imo. We're human too grin

Missbohan Sun 12-Feb-17 23:51:56

Oh I see, didn't realise it was a requirement. Re human too: yes, obviously, just didn't know if it was common that's all.

Newbluetattoo Sun 12-Feb-17 23:55:28

I had person centred counselling for a long time. I found that the changes were really subtle, and it was a bit frustrating at times, but there was something about it that kept me going back.
In the long run, it was by far my favourite of the different approaches I tried ( gestalt, and psychodynamic/ integrative), but actually I don't know if it was more because of the therapist rather than the approach.
Try not to overthink it. I'd say if it feels right (even if you don't know why), stick with it. If not, maybe give it a few more sessions and if it's not suiting you, try someone else.

BoboChic Sun 12-Feb-17 23:55:56

I had CBT about 15 years ago. It helped at the time in that I was able to let go of bad feeling. It worked, in that I felt better.