Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

What can I do? Childhood abuse related.

(12 Posts)
Wearegoingtobedlehem Thu 26-Jan-17 22:26:49

I don't know what to do, i have had ongoing problems with my periods for 5 years, and pelvic pain for 2 years. Today I finally broached the pelvic pain with the gp. As I suspected this means i am being referred for a trans vaginal scan. Due to years of sexual abuse as a child, this is frankly throwing me between feeling really sick and wanting to cry. I have no idea how I can face it but know I must. I always try to "man up" but don't see how I can sad
What do I do?

KJPxx Fri 27-Jan-17 07:08:13

I'm no expert, but have worked along side, and cared for individuals that have experienced this. I still care for a lady now who endured child sexual abuse and has had major complications in her adult life.
She spoke to her gp and they referred her to a cpn, she also sees a bereavement councilor for the childhood she had stolen from her.
It may be worth a try asking a gp to arrange or refer you if you have not already.
But please know you should not feel ashamed or 'man up' at all - you have every right to cry and be angry or upset - let it out and find the strength to realise it wasn't your fault.. You have the control now to enhance your future and make your past stay where it belongs.

I hope you get the help you so clearly deserve, sending my love and thoughts flowers

TheElephantofSurprise Fri 27-Jan-17 07:09:57

I was nervous about an internal I was having and the gp gave me Diazepam to take.
Everything was just fine...

GoodyGoodyGumdrops Fri 27-Jan-17 07:23:01

Can you talk about it? When your appointment comes through, can you phone the department and explain?