Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Different levels of IAPT services?

(3 Posts)
BursarsFrogs Wed 23-Nov-16 17:45:16

I hear there are four tiers of services, but what does this mean in practice? I was recently assessed, and told I'd probably receive "tier 4", but have apparently been put on a waiting list for "tier 3" services. I assume it will be talking therapy of one kind or another, but what exactly is the difference? Do you move from one tier to the next, if you fail to improve?

LittlePurplePig Thu 24-Nov-16 01:38:23

I know that initially I was given level 2 which was a short course of CBT (six sessions, although they stretched mine to 8 in the end) with a PWP - psychological wellbeing practicioner, so someone who had training just for that level. Then they put me up to level 3 which is 12 weeks with a CBT therapist, someone with a higher level training. I was given the impression that level 4 was beyond what the IAPT service does. I think level 1 is self-directed online/self-management stuff.

BursarsFrogs Thu 24-Nov-16 16:51:11

Thanks. I really hope I'll something more than 12 sessions of CBT (been there, done that), but I guess I'll have to take what I get.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now