Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Does MH make you a risk to DC?

(13 Posts)
AtSea1979 Sat 07-May-16 20:10:44

I had a telephone interview with CAFCASS recently. Despite DC stating XH was abusive. She said XH told her I had MH issues 3 years ago and must be having them now and brain washing DC. CAFCASS person then probed in to what happened 3 years ago. I was left in tears, feeling very upset that she seemed more interested in a MH issue from 3 years ago, where my DC were never at risk etc than what has happened recently with XH.
Does having mental health issues automatically make you a risk to your DC in the eyes of professionals?

NanaNina Sun 08-May-16 14:41:52

No of course it doesn't and I'm a retired social worker (30 year career all in children's services) The CAFCASS worker will have to look into any issues tat are brought up, and it's typical that your XH says you are mentally ill and brain washing the DC - so don't worry - can't count the number of times I've heard that one trotted out. Just tell them what they want to know and you'll be ok.

fuzzywuzzy Sun 08-May-16 14:49:32

Go speak to your GP, get letters stating your mental health is fine, some CAFCASS officers are absolutely dire, I had one who was utterly crap and another who kept pushing at me to allow contact with abusive ex till I told him I would hold him personally responsible when my children were harmed by ex due to his harmful recommendations.

I find its best to have as many authorities on your side as possible.

Speak to their school ask for a letter stating how the children are progressing now. My DC school sent a letter stating my DC's behaviour after contact was very worrying and DC1 was referred to the school SENCO, school were amazing and very supportive at the time.

AtSea1979 Sun 08-May-16 17:16:05