Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

GP appt made things even worse, am in crisis

(10 Posts)
elementofsurprise Sat 12-Mar-16 06:54:55

The GP just didn't seem to get it. I explained I was struggling to do anything but sit in a crying heap and he asked what I did for a living and suggested I do more aerobic exercise! How does he think I hold down a job if I can't do anything but cry? How does he think I will go fo a run if I'm not coping popping to the shops?

At least he recognised PTSD for the first time ever a health professional has done that. But he just didn't seem to grasp that I ALREADY live my life in a very restricted, paced way, where I can't do anything to a timetable. I have days where I can't get out of bed and focus on not hurting myself. I try my best to eat healthily and I study part time (Open Uni), but I only manage these becaue obvs the timing is so flexible. I tell myself I'm doing ok and try not to think of how restricted my life actually is and how disabled I am.

I only go to see the GP if I'm in crisis and even my restricted life isn't working - when I literally am barely getting out of bed (just to go to docs), and am getting confused and crying and waffling out loud to myself in a distressed way. I went to see him because this was happening.