Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Getting a diagnosis- should I? Did it help you?

(23 Posts)
AnxiousMunchkin Thu 10-Mar-16 03:13:57

I have had intermittent mental health problems since my late teens, I'm now in my 30s. I have been on and off medication, when younger had difficulty engaging with talking therapies but now I have been through CBT and engaging as much as I can with therapy/medication, and self-help techniques - mindfulness, self-care etc. I've been told I have a lot of insight- which makes sense, I'm a professional in an allied medical field, well read, have volunteered giving people in crisis emotional support etc.

I have never had a diagnosis of anything, that I've been officially informed of. I did see a psychiatrist and psychologist at university, but did not engage well. Since then I have just seen GPs intermittently when things have been bad (depression/anxiety).