Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Mental health and lack of support from work

(3 Posts)
Putthatonyourneedles Thu 04-Feb-16 19:59:05

I work in the health sector and i have long standing depression, PTSD from my dd3 birth in decemeber 2014 and anxiety.

I have got to the point at work where i am in major trouble due to my bradford score being really high as i have had a fair bit of time off due to one thing or another but mainly due to my mental health
I suppose the reason im posting is because i need some help now as im getting to the point where i could lose my job which i bloody love and am good at.
I was reading facebook when i saw one of the blog posts on Mnet that kinda struck home for me;
"It's time to talk because I was too ashamed to tell my employers that I was ill; and I would pretend to be physically ill because some days were too much to cope with mentally"

I suppose im just ranting but if i broke my leg and was off work for 6 weeks then nothing would be said other than 'get well soon' but because its not visible to the naked eye, i have good days and bad days and some horrendous days where i think the world would be better off with out me in it.

NanaNina Thu 04-Feb-16 21:40:53

I think mental health is now part of the Disability Discrimination Act, making it unlawful to discriminate against someone because of their mental health. MIND might have some helpful advice too.

hefzi Fri 05-Feb-16 15:14:02

NanaNina is right: you've been suffering for so long that they are required, by law, to make reasonable adjustments for you to be able to do your job. Have you got an Occupational Health department you can ask HR to refer you to? (They won't necessarily be good- ours said I should stop being a perfectionish, and go to the gym every day grin)