Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Imposter syndrome

(7 Posts)
DanaBarrett Fri 07-Nov-14 20:23:27

Hi all, I've lurked around this board quite a bit, I have PND and am on sertraline for this, but lately I've become increasingly aware of how inadequate I feel at work.

I'm quite a confident, forward person but in jobs, even when I was a student I was always backwards about coming forward. I now find myself sitting in rooms having meetings with people and I just want to sink into the background.

I'm petrified of saying the wrong thing. I feel like I know absolutely nothing and yet this stuff is bread and butter to me. I find it so hard to speak up, I feel underdressed and under qualified despite having survived in these environments for years.

I'm overweight (I am trying to lose weight smile) which doesn't help anything really lol. I just feel a complete mess. And yet I happily stand and talk to rooms full of students who ask if they have a chance of being employed by my company and tell them that if they're good enough to pass our rigorous interview process then of course we would take them on.

I feel like such a contradiction, and I just wondered if anyone else felt the same?

arseyfarcey Fri 07-Nov-14 20:32:04

I feel like this all the time. I'm a very well paid successful woman, and frankly feel like I'm faking it... Any day I'll be found out. I don't have any advice other than to think that many many other people probably feel the same... We're all faking it! grin

DanaBarrett Fri 07-Nov-14 20:39:08

I guess that's probably true shock in my heart of hearts I know it's not true, but I just can't seem shake the inadequacy of it all. Lol, I'm on my way back home having spent the night in Oxford, and I just feel so 'grim Northern'. It's ridiculous!

arseyfarcey Fri 07-Nov-14 20:44:25