Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Talk to me about different anti-depressants

(14 Posts)
summersover Thu 06-Nov-14 20:24:08

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Queenofknickers Thu 06-Nov-14 20:35:54

Citalapram seems to be what gps are keenest on. Personally I take fluoxetine which, after a couple of weeks of side effects, has been good. There is a newer version of citalapram called Ecitalopram - I have no knowledge but someone might come along who does. They might try you on sertraline. Unfortunately it can be trial and error to find the right one or even combination. Good luck - this too shall pass xxxxthanks

weyayechickenpie Thu 06-Nov-14 20:37:55

I used to take fluoxetine and I thought it helped at the time but looling back it had more negatives that positives. I felt numb inside, it kept me awake at night and it put me off eating for a while. I only stopped taking it because I used to feel dizzy and felt like I did before I had a fit ( I had epilepsy when I was younger) turns out I should never have been taking them to start with.

Im now on cymbalta and feel loads better, I sleep better my moods improved and that dizzy feeling has gone. The only downside is weaning off them. I noticed a big change if I stop taking them I feel so agitated and moody for the slightest reason.
I hope one day I wont need to take anything.

summersover Thu 06-Nov-14 20:48:47

NanaNina Thu 06-Nov-14 22:31:02