Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Feeling out of control

(11 Posts)
acatcalledchinchi Thu 06-Mar-14 20:59:22

I'm relatively new to Mumsnet. This is my second post in here as my first one went unanswered hmm

Not really sure where to start and have a feeling I may ramble, but I'll have a go. Mum to 3 DC (6, 5 and 3. DS who is 6 has mild CP). Married and am self employed working 6 days a week in out coffee shop.

Problem is I never have the ability to switch off, to say 'sod it, that can wait until tomorrow'. I always feel like I'm being pulled by everyone in one direction or another. I always feel against time, like there aren't enough hours in the day. I am usually up at 6.15 so I can go downstairs (we live above cafe) and turn machines on etc, then have 15 minutes or so to myself getting ready before kids wake. Then from 7am it's non stop, opening up work at 8.30, through to picking kids up from school, coming home and making tea etc. After spending all day cooking, serving and cleaning up after everyone else, I'm then expected to do it all again at home.

I know I'm not the only person in the world who works long hours but lately it's really taking its toll. I have no energy, no enthusiasm. I long to have a tidy and organised home, yet there's always mess, clutter, dishes, washing and I can never sit and relax until everything is done and out of the way. That gets me through to around 9pm when all day I've looked forward to having 'me' time, then I'm too knackered to enjoy it.

I've no surviving family and in laws live overseas. I feel like I'm on call 24/7. I feel guilty when I'm not doing stuff with the kids yet I crave sometimes for 10 minutes peace. There's always homework to be done, books to be read and DH doesn't help with that- he never has so that's not something I'm going to expect him to change now.