Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Binge/compulsive eating (no purging) anyone do it or recovered?

(6 Posts)
BabblingWreckSimianBrain Thu 18-Oct-12 12:27:45

My local health authority doesn't consider my case to be serious enough to warrant NHS help. GP is sympathetic but her hands are tied. She said the only way to get help is if you're bulimic or anorexic, neither of which is my issue. She also said that at my weight, because I'm simply 'obese' and not morbidly obese they don't consider my issues to be serious either. I have raised BP and am no starting to notice aches and pains that I'm sure are weight related.

I have been doing this for 30 years and want to stop but I dont know how. I've tried every diet out there and dieting only seems to make the problem worse.

mashedpotatohead Fri 19-Oct-12 09:16:40

Hi babbling, sorry to hear you're not getting any medical help. Do you think getting to the core of the problem may help you more though? Obviously having done it for 30 years, it's going to take time but wondering if you've ever tried counselling?

I have also had issues around food from my teens & still battle with these demons now. My emotions play a big part in how I eat/binge/starve. However, having had different types of counselling over the years, I do recognise my triggers.

I found that diets didn't help me either, so I can understand that.

Let us know your thoughts.

Salbertina Fri 19-Oct-12 09:28:34

Have you tried low carbing as a way of eating, not diet? Done right, it can kill cravings and stabilises appetite as well as being v effective for losing weight. Have a look around big/slim/whatever board, you'll find lots of support there.
Heard good things about hypnotherapy tho not tried.

orangeandlemons Sun 21-Oct-12 14:36:09

I would second high protein low carb to help.