Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Therapist wants to start seeing me twice a week -eek!

(8 Posts)
jendifa Wed 26-Sep-12 12:06:45

I've been seeing a therapist weekly for the last year. This week she has said she wants to see my twice a week, as I'm finding it harder to cope with things at the moment.

Although I'm feeling relieved at the idea, I'm still a bit scared about it, and the friend I told was fairly judgemental about it.

Anyone any wise words of wisdom, or any experience in this?

ethelb Wed 26-Sep-12 12:11:32

do you pay them? I'm not a health expert at all but I have heard this is quite common and I have to say I am a bit skeptical about a therapist who would be taking money off their clients suggesting this.

jendifa Wed 26-Sep-12 12:14:37

I pay, but she has lowered the amount, so I'm only paying a tiny bit more, rather than paying for two sessions.
We discussed the payment side of it, with her saying that she couldn't not charge me, as she didn't have the ability to do that, but the priority was me, rather than the money.

LFCisTarkaDahl Wed 26-Sep-12 12:16:24

They're just offering you an extra hour - you don't have to take it smile

Sometimes people find it really difficult to ask for help. I went twice a week for a month once (was bereaved) and the extra support really helped.

fluffydressinggown Wed 26-Sep-12 17:38:31

I saw my therapist twice a week for 3 months (NHS) it helped me a lot - felt like there was less time between things to let it all build up again.

I would maybe do it for a time limited period - 2/3 weeks.

Hoophopes Wed 26-Sep-12 19:33:36