Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Elderly lady - hallucinations & not coping after general anaesthetic

(11 Posts)
MirandaGoshawk Mon 24-Sep-12 22:16:47

Hi, my mum is 91 & had a fall in mid-August & broke her hip. She had a plate put in under GA. I saw her the next day & she seemed OK, but gradually she has gone a bit weird, seeing people who aren't there, thinking 'they' are out to get her, etc. She has always had all her marbles but now she's paranoid. Anyway, a nurse told her that the anaesthetics they give to elderly people don't send them under as deeply as with younger fitter people, and so give them hallucinations etc, which will last for ever!

Does anyone know if this is true? Any ideas?

Vulgar Mon 24-Sep-12 22:36:13

Hi Miranda,

I'm no medical expert but I have heard that a urinary infection can give elderly people hallucinations and also mimic the signs of dementia. It may be worth having her checked out to see she hasn't got an infection as this would hopefully be simple to sort out.

I've never heard about the anaesthesia problem but hopefully there maybe someone along soon who knows more.

hope you get your mum sorted soon.

MirandaGoshawk Tue 25-Sep-12 14:30:00

Hi, Vulgar - urinary infection does ring a bell actually, I seem to remember it mentioned but not in relation to the anaesthetic. I hadn't joined the two up. Thanks.

CMOTDibbler Tue 25-Sep-12 14:41:28

The anaesthetic thing isn't true at all, and the most common reason for hallucinations etc in the elderly are UTIs, though my mum reacts really badly to codeine like this.
Hope she's better soon

memphis83 Tue 25-Sep-12 14:47:12

My DGM had UTI's in hospital and she was seeing people who were not there and talking utter rubbish not remembering anyones names, as soon as antibiotics kicked in she was back to her normal self.