Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Mirtazapine. Any good for anxiety?

(16 Posts)
orangeandlemons Tue 22-May-12 14:03:16

Just looking for other users and experiences.

I have had some terrible terrible experiences with other ad's and anxiety side effects. TBH they weren't side effects, they just raised the levels of anxiety to terror levels, and it never went away until I came off the drugs.

I am also suffering from anxietysad I cannot take any ssri's, imipramine or trazadone. They have all made me much much worse, well past the time lag for the start up effects. Was nearly hospitalised after 3 months of trazadone, and pretty close after 7 weeks sertraline.

Have been on 15mg mirtazapine for 2 weeks. Mood has lifted quite a lot. Anxiety has come down after hell on sertraline, BUT IS STILL THERE. Gp has raised dose to 30mg. Is it likely to work against frigging anxiety?

Please please don't suggest other Ad's to me. I know you will be only trying to help, but this is like a last chance saloon for me, gp and psysch. I think we are all sick of me.

The only ones I have left to take are paroxetineor duloxetine which both have the word SRI in them, and therefore are spawn of the devil afaiac.

Have had better response to TCa's but they all make me eat my head off. I know mirtazapine also does this, but GP says it isn't as bad as tca's in her experience. Anyway, I don't really care about eating atm, I just want to know does it work against anxiety

Julialyne Tue 22-May-12 14:49:51