Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Lawyers and depression

(15 Posts)
NoNamesPleasewereBritish Wed 28-Sep-11 21:10:06

I am a long-time lurker and occasional poster, but have name-changed for this.

I work as a lawyer. I have struggled with depression for years and have tried desparately to control it without professional help despite a disastrous personal life that I have occasionally found overwhelming. (I don't want to put the details on a public forum). I have tried my hardest not to bring these issues to work, but I regularly sob my socks off in the loo. Recent events have obviously had a negative effect on my depression, to the point where I eschew company and am deliberately rude to people who I feel are getting too emotionally "close" to me. (I sound delightful, don't I??)

I am in bits. I was referred to a psychiatrist who told me that my depression was "off the scale" and recommended in-patient treatment. I balked at this but he said (and I agree) "you can't have it all" i.e. pretending all is well whilst feeling wretched.

Obviously, the "right" answer is to say, sod it, my health is more important and I am getting signed off and admitted. I feel I just can't do that. I don't want to let people down, and I am scared that I will be managed out for showing "weakness" or for taking time off sick. (I know they can't do it overtly, but there are always ways...) I dread having "the conversation" and having to face everyone afterwards. I am also concerned that I may be deemed unfit to practise (but that may be paranoia talking).

It's a long shot, but I wondered whether anyone had any similar experiences to share? Obviously I appreciate anyone who takes the time to reply (if anyone does!). However, if there are any legal eagles in a similar boat or who have any advice, I would particularly love to hear from you.