Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

just get on with it!

(6 Posts)
samza Sun 25-Sep-11 12:28:55

Hello, guys, im new to this so please bear with me! I'd just like a bit of advice if possible please!
After having suffered post natal depression 3 times after each of my boys, I,m well on my way to a full recovery. Theres just a few things holding me back and could do with some imparial advice.
My husband, due to financial difficulties, has decided the best thing for the family is to work away as a medic on oil rigs. Which leaves myself and the children alone most of the time. I,m not majorly happy about the decision and when he comes home, I end up resenting him and being horrible as my mum and dad don't agree with the decision, yet don't supprt me either due to health problems themselves.
My relationship with my husband has been terribly strained as of late and i have seriously considered leaving him as he isn't very understanding and told me to stop moaning and to just get on with it. Now don't get me wrong, I am managing brilliantly but i could do with a break, really do with a break in fact!
My brother and his wife who live nearby totally resent me as I have recently had to give up my job to look after the children. My sister in law particularly is bitter as she has 3 years until retirement and has brought up 2 children whilst working full time and feels I shouldn't have any problems at all.
I dont know if i am being unreasonable here, but to cut a long story short, my mum left her first husband when my brother was 16 and then she met my dad. My brother has always been jealous of mine and my mums relationship, as has my sister in law as she doesn't speak to her own mother.