Talk

Advanced search

Vomiting and headache on the first day

(16 Posts)
winterwalks Thu 16-Apr-15 22:15:18

I did the jason vale juice fast a year ago and was fine.
On the first day of the 5 2 I had a bad headache and threw up all the apple, carrot and celery sticks I had for lunch.
Jason ' s juice for breakfast.
After a sweet cup of tea and a three hour sleep I was ok
Is it a coincidence and I had a bug.

ErrolTheDragon Thu 16-Apr-15 22:27:44

I've been doing 5:2 for nearly 2 years now, and frequent the main thread - I've never heard of people throwing up due to fasting. Headaches are not uncommon at first - can be associated with not drinking enough (because normally we get a lot of fluid from food) and/or not having caffeine if you usually do and/or needing a bit of something salty like marmite or miso (so I suppose there's a salts imbalance of some sort). Most people find what works for them and it settles down.

Curious what's in the 'Jasons juice'? It does occur that perhaps what you had was rather acidic. My norm is a couple of cups of tea with milk in the morning, sometimes a cup of miso at lunchtime, then dinner (mainly protein/veg)

Or it could have been an unfortunately timed bug.

winterwalks Thu 16-Apr-15 22:33:51

Errol

It was freshly juiced Apple, celery, carrot and beetroot
Then I had herbal teas and veg crudités.

Today I was fine.

I had oat smoothie - oat milk, one piece of frozen banana and berries.
Tea and milk.
Oatcakes
Bean salad with celery and tomatoes
2 olives

ErrolTheDragon Thu 16-Apr-15 22:40:41

That sounds like it would be kinder on your tum than the juice etc. Glad it went better today!

Come on over to the main thread - lots of support and advice there. smile

winterwalks Thu 16-Apr-15 22:54:42

Thank you errol
Will do

BigChocFrenzy Fri 17-Apr-15 07:10:26

When you are getting used to fasting, we recommend plenty of protein and veg, so you feel fuller for longer. Later on, a few folk do veg juice / smoothie fasts.