We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Do I have to have the 6m blood pressure, etc, checks done when using a Diaphragm/contraceptive gel

(7 Posts)
CursedLove Mon 08-Aug-16 20:51:14

I called to refill my prescriptions for my contraceptive gel that I use with my diaphragm and was told I will not be given another prescription until I've come in for my 6 monthly check, when I asked what for she said "blood pressure, weight, ETC"

I've been using a diaphragm on/off for many years and have never had a 6 monthly check before, only when I was on the contraceptive pill did I have one, and it's been over a decade since I stopped taking that.

Is this a new thing?
I don't understand why it would be necessary as its a non hormonal, non drug form of contraceptive so I don't understand why it would so important they would refuse to refill the prescription until it was done.
I only got a new diaphragm a few months ago so it won't be for a size check, which I don't believe they do anyway.

I'm a little put out because I will need the prescription by the weekend and I'm either going to have to buy the gel online or use condoms with my partner until I can get some time off work to make an apt, which are difficult to get.

WhenSheWasBadSheWasHorrid Mon 08-Aug-16 20:54:32

I never had to have a bp check when I used a diaphragm. It's not a popular choice maybe your surgery is just mixing you in with the pill takers because they don't normally do diaphragms.

CursedLove Mon 08-Aug-16 21:04:40