Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Anyone take the combined pill continuously?

(13 Posts)
cakeisnotaproperbreakfast Sun 20-Sep-15 16:38:33

Having tried cerazette last year to see if it would stop my periods (and it turning me into a woman possessed) I've gone back to the combined pill (norimin).
I just find it super inconvenient to have periods (I'm a nurse & work long shifts) plus I can happily do without the pain, the poops & generally feeling rubbish for 5 days every month.
I used to be able to take my pill without the 7 day break and run several packs together to avoid having a period. But I can't remember which brand that was on (I've tried several over the years).
Now I can only take it continuously for anywhere between 50-70ish days (it's very random) before my period starts. Maybe it's my age (40) or maybe it's the pill I'm currently on.
Do you take the pill sucessfully for several months & if so, which one do you take?
I know that tri-cycling is recommended by some sexual health nurses. And I've seen that a year long continuous pill (sounds like heaven to me!) is available in the U.S. so was just wondering about others experiences.

NotCitrus Sun 20-Sep-15 17:01:54

I did Femodene for 3 months or more at a time. If I took it for more than 3 months there was often random bleeding which I think is generally a problem, because modern pills have lower hormone doses than in say the 70s.

3phase Fri 23-Oct-15 05:57:21

I've just started Mercilon with the intention of not having any periods - discussed it with doctor first. I'm done having children and just don't want periods anymore. Also finding them massively inconvenient! Having been sterilised during my section for our last child, I don't actually need contraception so it seems nuts to be taking the pill but hey ho. Just started but will let you know how I get on.