Talk

Advanced search

military history......

(20 Posts)
imwaiting Tue 10-Aug-10 18:38:01

I am new to all this history thing, so can anyone tell me where to go to find out about my gt grandad? I know he was a Lt Col MC in the Duke of Wellington Rgt, and he was born in 1880.
I would love to know about his service history, and also trace the family back further if poss.
Thanks

LucindaCarlisle Tue 10-Aug-10 21:14:01

Get his exact date of birth and his full name

With that rank and him having the MC there are probably regimental records which mention his name.

Google his name, do an advanced research.

Look at www.findmypast.com they have military sub sections.

Where was the Duke of Wellingtons regiment based?

imwaiting Tue 10-Aug-10 21:38:05

D of W based in Halifax.
I have e mailed their museum/archive but they have not replied.
I have googled him, but don't get much info (William Boocock)
Apparently the MC's were not recorded like the VC's are.
Do you reckon FindMyPast is the best?
Like you say, with that rank I would love to know more about him and where he came from.
Thanks for repling.

LucindaCarlisle Tue 10-Aug-10 21:44:46

Google First world war History Forum and see what you get.

They have forums and lots of the members are very helpful.
findmypast is excellent.

Do you live near TNA at Kew?

imwaiting Tue 10-Aug-10 22:31:39

Nowhere near I'm afraid!
Will try forum.
Thanks.

Esmee Wed 11-Aug-10 17:30:07

Hi imwaiting, I think I have found a record for William Boocock.

Regiment, Corps etc.: Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment)
Battalion etc.: 9th Battalion.
Formed at Halifax Sept. 1914-K2-to Wareham area in 52nd Bde. 17th Div. Oct. 1914 Bovington. Nov. 1914 Wimborne. June 1915 Hursley. About 15 July 1915 landed at Boulogne. 11.11.18 52nd Bde. 17th Div. France; south of Maubeuge.
Last name: Boocock
First name(s): William
Initials: W
Birthplace: Barnoldswick, Yorks
Enlisted: Skipton, Yorks
Residence: Barnoldswick
Number: 12979