Talk

Advanced search

Single parent of 2 - take job or no?

(3 Posts)
Marie38y Wed 15-Mar-17 22:04:57

I am well paid (>130k). I have split with my husband a year ago and now have my 2 kids (5 and 2) , he has them for 2 weekends out of every 6.
So far it is working because despite my 3 hour commute time, I have an amazing nanny and a 9-5 job with one day from home. The job is boring though and is a contract (freelance), so they can cut me at any time. (I have been working this way for 4 years)
I have been interviewing for a permanent job which is less well paid, but still a good salay (110k) but having spoken to HR today they explained hours are 8:30-6 or 6:30 and work from home would likely be ad-hoc rather than regular 1 day a week.
I love the sound of the job. I think I will learn and I would love the comfort of a permanent role. I already planned to move in order to spend more time with children and hence from Summer will reduce my commute to 30 mins each way.
If they agree to an 8-5 role (as I proposed ) , should I turn down anyway on the basis that if working hours are longer generally I will be excluded and fail to progress, hence making the pay cut a more long-lasting one than I hoped.
My girls are doing well and their dad is good but not around regularly as he works abroad, so the wrap-around care would be an au pair for my eldest or school clubs. Nursery hours cover me for the youngest but I did this with my eldest (full time and 8-5) and it was
tough - and then I only had one child !
But I do think - I could lose my freelance role tomorrow or have my salary cut and the nervousness of that is hard.