Talk

Advanced search

Working full time

(6 Posts)
kdvdsn Mon 25-Aug-14 22:02:58

I'm new at this and have read other threads with similar topics.

I have a two year old and had worked part time up until a few months ago when I was eventually offered a degree related career! Full time. I thought it was what I always wanted but now since starting I'm regretting every minute of it.

Don't get me wrong, I love the job and I can see a progressive future with it but I'm leaving my two year old every morning 8am - 5pm and it's tearing me apart!!
Not only this but I'm seeing a difference in his behaviour too and he's always been so loving and close toward me but less so now.

I've used so many holidays already taking days off to spend with him and it feels great at the time but then, when I return to work every day again, I feel that I'm back at square one again re my emotions and his behaviour.

I thought the career move was for the benefits of his future and the savings are increasing, but is it worth it when I'm missing his whole childhood.

Please can someone help me with this?
Thank you hmm

daisydee43 Tue 16-Sep-14 18:30:59

this is what annoys me abt careers - the only jobs that exist are full time angry i would love a career degree related job but am not prepared to give up more than 4 days a week. even if youve already got a career and want to cut hours it may not work out as 2 of my cousins found out - one was told its full time only so at the last minute found a job share and the other got demoted.

i work part time in a make do job but am holding out for a part time career - actually saw one advertised recently but am due to go on mat leave soon.

ninjanina Wed 08-Oct-14 18:38:02

I agree with edaisydee43 that all the decent jobs are only full time (plus). SOOO frustrating.