Talk

Advanced search

Piano tuition - where to start?

(16 Posts)
treegone Fri 04-Jan-19 14:42:29

How did your kid start to learn to play the piano? Does anyone have advice as to what sort of teaching options are about for small children. I play and whilst life is busier for me now its weekly at the least. My dd6 is interested but quite oppositional to me and she doesn’t want to copy what I do, she does the opposite! She will bang the keys etc if I’m with her but I see her sit there by herself and tinkle so know she’s interested. I taught myself at about 14 and played very well as a teen but that’s not a great way to learn properly. My music reading was also self taught and is far below my playing standard so don’t feel able to teach it. I’m actually a teacher (in a different subject) but seem unable to manage the one child I should be able to actually teach!
I’d like her to play, I think she’d love it once she got the basics and I want to give her the chance.
Does anyone have any tips for where to start? Do tutors teach in a small group setting? Like two kids to one tutor as they get the hang of the basics. I think she’d be better to start with if there were other children doing it too. I can't find anything locally that looks like anything other than bog standard tuition, which I think she's too young and immature for. It may also put her off. Any advice or your own experiences welcome.

ThreeAndUs Sat 05-Jan-19 07:39:13

I teach piano but I do not teach my own children. My very young beginner pupils start around 6/7 years old and start with 20 minute individual lessons. Have you done a Google search for a local teacher? Or perhaps you're in a local Facebook page and could ask in there if there are any piano teachers in the local area? It's great she has you at home to help with practise! smile

Ragaroo Sat 05-Jan-19 08:32:23