Talk

Advanced search

Supporting your child learning foreign languages

(29 Posts)
Greenleave Mon 09-Jan-17 13:24:37

Anyone has any succesful experience and/or good tips/recommendations on tutors/classes/summer camps anything you did and/or are doing to help your child learning foreign languages that you would share. My year 4 has been learning French in school and going to a weekend 30mins class for a year and still cant be able to say much(or any). It could be because we are particularly bad at languagues as the household and/or(I try to reassure myself) that we havent got the right approach yet. I am not aiming for any particular language, any additional is good, better that she can speak the language when its needed, reading and writting isnt as important.

2014newme Mon 09-Jan-17 13:27:16

What is the reason why you want her to be good at french? I work for a French company we all speak English at work. I studied french up to uni level and never use it.

Greenleave Mon 09-Jan-17 13:53:22

There isnt a particular reason to be honest, she learns French at school as a foreign language and we go to France at least twice a year for holiday because they are next to us. I dont mind for her to learn any particular one, just hoping for her to be able to speak couple of other languages without living in the country to be able to do it.

2014newme Mon 09-Jan-17 14:30:41

Coding would be the most useful language she could learn.

Greenleave Mon 09-Jan-17 14:39:35

2014: Agreed, that is another problem(which I havent been able to deal with either). However it could be focused on later as I am sure in 10yrs times things will change and much of the coding world will come to universal, more tools to help too, easier to understand, decode. For now, with a 9 yrs old, I am more hoping on "real" languages.

blankmind Mon 09-Jan-17 14:50:00