Talk

Advanced search

weird piano habit

(19 Posts)
irvineoneohone Sat 12-Nov-16 22:03:51

My ds keeps playing songs he learned in different scales. Not different octaves.
He plays normally, then try it on different scales, and another, and another......
Is this normal things to do?
I just find it very odd, and want him to stop, but should I say something? Or should I just let him carry on doing whatever he wants to do?
I have no music knowledge at all.

SmilingButClueless Sat 12-Nov-16 22:09:20

Useful skill to have 😀 Particularly if he wants to accompany transposing instrument or singers who can't hit the notes they think they can

Plus all practice is good.

greengreenten Sat 12-Nov-16 22:11:03

That's not easy to do. Might drive you mad but as PP said it's really good to practice. It's also using his brain in a way that other subjects don't so let him carry on I'd say.

irvineoneohone Sat 12-Nov-16 22:19:01

Thank you. Yes, it drive me mad, but if it's good practice, I will (try to ) tolerate it! grin

insan1tyscartching Sat 12-Nov-16 22:19:59

Dd does the same, I just see it as her experimenting tbh. Mind you she has ASD so there is plenty that she does that could be seen as odd so maybe I don't tend to notice small oddness very often.

mawbroon Sat 12-Nov-16 22:22:35

Why do you find it odd?

It's a great skill to have.

MyWineTime Sat 12-Nov-16 23:55:34

Why on earth do you want him to stop?
Let him experiment!

Wafflenose Sun 13-Nov-16 00:09:45

I wish everyone would do that. It's so very good for them, and I'm extremely impressed. I don't quite see why it's odd though.

irvineoneohone Sun 13-Nov-16 07:41:00

Thank you.
I don't have a clue about music, and I wasn't sure that he was meant to be doing that kind of things. And my ds is very quirky child, so I wondered if he was doing something he shouldn't be doing.
I am glad I asked here before telling him to stop, it was kind of bugging me for a while. Good to know it's actually good for him.