Talk

Advanced search

Heel taps - for tiny footed shoes!

(12 Posts)
MiaowTheCat Fri 09-Sep-16 18:43:38

I know it's quiet in here - but hopefully someone can help me out.

DD1 has tiny feet for her age (gets it from her dad) and while most kids in her dancing are hitting size 10/11 or so shoes - she's only just gone into a size 7. Trouble is that the shoes in that size don't come with heel taps fitted, while her dance class stipulates they need heel taps for this coming year - and my brain is hurting trying to figure out which ones I need to buy!

Can any of the experienced dance mums point me in the direction of somewhere I can order the buggers for infant size 7 shoes - think it's a rare problem to have as dance teacher looked amazed when I mentioned it as an issue!

LIZS Fri 09-Sep-16 18:48:13

Dance direct?

onecrazycook Fri 09-Sep-16 18:50:30

Hi! I used to be a dance teacher. Shouldn't be too much of a problem and I'd suggest just getting the horseshoe type heel taps for your little one for starters. Any Dancewear supplies store should have these, but if you don't have one close by, try Dancewear direct online. Avoid teletone Taps for now as a lot of exam boards don't allow them in early grades

RapidlyOscillating Fri 09-Sep-16 18:53:44

Aren't heel taps often retrofitted on to shoes? I suspect that you could get them added to a little shoe with a decent heel.

onecrazycook Fri 09-Sep-16 18:56:09

Some brands of shoe have them fitted already but only from size 10 and up normally.

MiaowTheCat Fri 09-Sep-16 18:56:21

Yeah I'm going to have to get the taps and fit them ourselves as she's waaaaay below the standard point they start to come on shoes with! Can't have her having less potential to make the building shake than the other kids in the class (and we know utter noise making potential is the absolute priority when you're little - along with twirling around in your skirt and yanking your leotard out of your arse crack constantly).