Spring/ Summer Music and Musicians Thread

(982 Posts)
Wafflenose Sun 10-Apr-16 11:25:35

My children go back to school tomorrow, and it's my birthday this week, so it must be properly spring in the UK now, and time for a new thread! Please jump right in by telling us about your DCs' learning (or your own), or by asking any music/ music exam related questions you like. We have lots of experienced music parents and teachers on here, as well as lots of new ones.

I am a music teacher, and mum to Goo (10) and Rara (7). Goo started the recorder and flute when she was tiny (age 3 and 6 respectively), has recently added piccolo, but not very well yet, and is starting piano lessons in a couple of weeks. She has no exams this term, but will probably do Grade 6 Flute in the Autumn and Grade 8 Recorder next Spring. She plays in her school orchestra and recorder groups, South West Music School and NCO, and has her first concert with County Wind Band tonight, after a trial course. She hasn't auditioned to become a member yet, and might not for a few years yet, due to age and time factors.

Rara isn't so musically inclined - she prefers to read and draw, and is also very physically active. However, she is due to take her Grade 2 Cello exam this term, and Grade 3 Recorder in the Autumn - she's currently getting to grips with the treble and loving it!

ealingwestmum Sun 10-Apr-16 12:11:54

Have a great birthday week Waffle!

We have a week and a half of hols still to go. DD in Y7 (12). Waiting for G4 singing results from last term (I am ashamed to say I did not hear even one of the pieces), but that's senior school life now, little practice at home, time grabbed at school as and when in breaks/mornings etc due to extra curricular juggling and weekends in between multiple sports. Being musical and sporty doesn't mix well as the levels get more advanced.