Is this a reasonable amount of information to ask from a prospective tutor

(41 Posts)
twofalls Wed 24-Feb-16 17:02:39

DH is a guitar teacher and professional musician.

Today he has been asked by a potential student's mother for his DRB check, grade certificiates, references, influences, musical background, and links to him playing live.

He was a bit [hmm about being asked for so much for an initial 30 minute lesson for a beginner but gave all the information requested.

The mother then emailed back and said the video clips of him playing live didn't contain enough guitar solos so could her child come for 30 minutes sometime this week (she wouldn't be paying for the time) for DH to play live for him. She was going to do that with 3 teachers and her son was going to choose who he preferred.

The child is 9 and a complete beginner.

DH said, sorry but I am not prepared to do that. I think he has had a lucky escape to be honest but would does anyone else thing thats reasonable?

Primaryteach87 Wed 24-Feb-16 17:04:44

I think the DBS, certificates and reference are valid questions. But asking him to perform a mini concert for free is ridiculous!!

twofalls Wed 24-Feb-16 17:12:51

Meant to say, totally get the DBS, grades and references, although so many people in our town know him he doesn't get asked very often.

JennyOnAPlate Wed 24-Feb-16 17:38:34

Very lucky escape I should think!

DBS check and references are fair enough but the rest of it I am very hmm about!

dodobookends Wed 24-Feb-16 17:40:09

My dh is a guitar teacher and he would be shock at this! Rather precious and OTT for a beginner.

Primaryteach87 Wed 24-Feb-16 18:11:37

Also tell you DP that he has dodged a bullet. I once had a parent demand loads and loads...needless to say they were also ones whose cheques bounced!! Laugh and move on :-)

ZenNudist Wed 24-Feb-16 18:18:32

Your dh needs to cultivate a reputation as worth getting in with so he doesn't need to audition.

She sounds mental.