How many swimming lessons are enough?

(16 Posts)
Coffeeinthepark Tue 23-Jun-15 20:31:53

My boy (7) has been to swimming lessons for 2 years now. He has his 10 meter badge, can do the 3 main strokes, is comfortable under water and wants to stop the lessons next term.. He doesn't hate the lessons but it isn't his favourite and he sometimes finds it cold.

I'm not sure what to do as don't know what is a sensible marker of "being able to swim". I can take him to a pool from time to time but can't teach him myself.

10 meters doesn't seem very far to me

Binglet Tue 23-Jun-15 20:36:36

As a swimming teacher I always say if a child can swim 25m, they can swim. That's a fair enough distance (normally a length) and this normally means they are strong and confident enough swimmers to get themselves out of trouble if required. But I'm a horrible teacher who won't give out 25m badges unless I have correct front crawl technique

museumum Tue 23-Jun-15 20:37:30

To do lots of water sports like canoeing or sailing it's 50m they need!!

UniS Tue 23-Jun-15 20:37:48

What sort of water activities does he want to do? If he wants to gain his beaver or cub swimmer badges his target is 25 m , if he wants to try Canoeing his target is probadly 50 m. If he wants to go surfing or body boarding....
10m isn't very far.
Could he take a break from classes and go back again in sept or Jan. ?

chocomochi Tue 23-Jun-15 20:40:14

I think he needs to be able to swim 25m confidently before he should stop. Maybe he just needs a bit of a break or just stuck in a rut? Perhaps a water park or just playing will help him enjoy the water?

tumbletumble Tue 23-Jun-15 20:41:23

My DS1 is 9 and has just done his 800m badge - I'd be happy for him to stop now if he wanted to. I wouldn't have let him stop at 7.

Starlightbright1 Tue 23-Jun-15 20:44:47