Talk

Advanced search

Recorder for musical beginner

(17 Posts)
ChinaInYourHands Thu 15-Sep-11 15:40:10

DS age 7 has just started learning te recorder at school and he loves it so I'd like to get him one to practice with at home. I'd like something half decent as he's learning music anyway (he does piano and guitar) and I think he'll use it a lot. I'd love some recommendations for a recorder and also for a practice book. Thanks so much.

BrigitBigKnickers Thu 15-Sep-11 15:47:44

Hi I am a music teacher and the aulos 205 this one is without any shadow of a doubt the best recorder you can buy at a reasonable price. The tutor book we use at school is "Red Hot Recorder" which comes with a CD to play along with and is fairly easy to follow.

You can buy them both at Musicroom

bruffin Thu 15-Sep-11 15:48:54

Go for a wooden one they have a much mellower sound. I had a lovely adler when I was younger but I don't think they make them anymore.

BrigitBigKnickers Thu 15-Sep-11 15:52:15

You have to spend alot of money on a wooden recorder if you want a half decent one.
IME the cheaper wooden ones are rarely in tune...

purcellfan Thu 15-Sep-11 15:53:20

I teach recorder and normally recommend the yamaha plastic ones. Wood is lovely but needs a lot of care and the plastic ones last longer when children are little. Even professional players and conservatoire students practice on plastic ones when just doing technical exercises etc as the wooden ones don't stand up to being played for hours.

Would also recommend red hot recorder.

ChinaInYourHands Thu 15-Sep-11 16:00:33

Thank you all for helping with this.
BrigitBigKnickers, could you please confirm for me that this is the right one: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Aulos-205a-Descant-Recorder-Outfit/dp/B000NCEQCS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1316098668&sr=8-2

ChinaInYourHands Thu 15-Sep-11 16:03:26

Sorry I'm not sure that link was any good