Talk

Advanced search

Most effective exercise at home for a beginner?

(12 Posts)
DanHumphreyIsA Mon 09-Oct-17 23:27:16

I've read squats and lunges etc are more for strength training, but I'm more interested in recommendations for fat loss?

I've seen all sorts of '30 day challenges' online but they mainly revolve around squats.

Is there anything else I can do at home to lose weight, alongside dieting?

I wouldn't be comfortable going running/jogging outside (atleast until I can do so for longer than 5 minutes without dying grin)

NoCryLilSoftSoft Mon 09-Oct-17 23:28:54

Following.

Toffeelatteplease Mon 09-Oct-17 23:50:12

Anything is good but Wii fit is great for an absolute beginner. It's great for getting you over the first hump of exercise and is fantastic for working on posture. the too challenging

I love les mills on demand. It's a subscription app (£10 a monthly less yearly) of a variety of fitness videos that are regularly renewed. I got into it via body pump at the gym. It terrified me but I found it hard but doable, very easy to progress and the music really carried me through the exercise. Sadly circumstances changed I found i could get to the gym reliably anymore so I bought my own barbell, a few hand weights and decent step. Turned out iliked the other classes on there as well. It's good or both strength and cardio. Body step and body attack killed me at first but if you work at you build up really quickly. I really love body step. Partly because I'm so uncoordinated there a deep satisfaction when I actually start moving in the right direction at the right time.partly because the "instructors" are so relentlessly enthusiastic (today is your day body Steppers!!) That you can't help but smile

Migraleve Mon 09-Oct-17 23:52:25

Walking. Simple walking.

oldlaundbooth Mon 09-Oct-17 23:54:28

Walking.

C'est tout.

BlackPepperCrab Tue 10-Oct-17 19:17:51