Talk

Advanced search

Can we talk about muscle weighing more than fat?

(36 Posts)
strartingtotry Mon 25-Sep-17 14:01:00

So I've been doing pole dancing which is strength training for a few months now and I've noticed I've put a few pounds on. My waist and hip measurements etc are still the same so I'm not any bigger. My arms are definitely more muscly! Do you think it's because as some people say muscle weighs more than fat?

brownfang Mon 25-Sep-17 20:12:12

The difference is less than 10%, though. Gosh, the way folk go on you'd think the difference was MASSIVE.

You could get one of those body fat% calculating electronic scales and see if there are any changes over time.

That link is also good at explaining why muscles only metabolise very slightly more energy than fat, being more muscly does not burn many more calories. I once worked out that for a woman who went from very little muscle to lots of muscle, the calorie difference per day would be like 60-80 kcal. Or a single tangerine.

strartingtotry Tue 26-Sep-17 19:03:46

Thank you for the link! I've just checked out my body fat percentage online and it's 26% which I'm happy with as I once checked and it was 33% so it's improved grin

Cameblackbenzleftwhite1 Tue 26-Sep-17 19:05:15

How on earth can you check your body fat percentage online? The scales at home aren't really very accurate

AfunaMbatata Tue 26-Sep-17 19:06:46

What camel asked, how do you measure body fat online?

YouCantArgueWithStupid Tue 26-Sep-17 19:13:33

Fat has less mass than muscle. A kg of feathers weighs the same as a kg of stones. They have a different mass

YouCantArgueWithStupid Tue 26-Sep-17 19:13:55

Sorry muscle has less mass than fat

Allthelightsgoout Tue 26-Sep-17 19:22:35